The Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (OhioMHAS) operates regional psychiatric hospitals in six locations across the state. These specialized facilities provide short-term, intensive treatment to patients in both inpatient and community-supported environments. They also deliver comprehensive care to patients committed by criminal courts.

Working in collaboration with county boards and community agencies, expert services are built on evidence-based best practices. Staff at all our hospitals focus on maximizing the potential for recovery so that people with mental illness will be successful and satisfied in their preferred community roles with the level of support needed and wanted.

Each hospital is required to be inspected by and maintain compliance with the national healthcare standards for hospitals of the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (TJC) and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

OhioMHAS also has statutory and regulatory authority over community providers of mental health services to Ohio consumers. Separate standards apply depending on the type and level of service provided: Community Mental Health Agencies, Residential Facilities and Inpatient Psychiatric Service Providers.

Affidavit of Mental Illness
Criminal Justice Involvement
Forensic Services
Licensure and Certification
Patient Care System
Pediatric Psychiatry Network
Prison Therapeutic Communities
Problem Gambling